Jerry Buell, Florida High School Teacher, Suspended For Anti-Gay Facebook Posts

Jerry Buell, a history teacher at Mount Dora High School in Mount Dora, Fla. wrote on his Facebook page that he “almost threw up” when he was having dinner and news came on of New York’s decision to allow same-sex marriage showed up July 25.

via Jerry Buell, Florida High School Teacher, Suspended For Anti-Gay Facebook Posts.

Wish I could throw up on your face dude. All I have to say about that.

3 Comments on “Jerry Buell, Florida High School Teacher, Suspended For Anti-Gay Facebook Posts”

  1. handloader says:

    To the teacher, Bible says to forgive those who trespass, forgive and you shall be forgiven, Judge not or lest be judged, with the same measure you judge shall be measured back to you. Remember mortals are suppose to forgive, only GOD judges.

    • Lisa says:

      Wait, to the guy judging gay people, me judging his judgment, or your judgment of my judgment?

      What a tangled web we weave.

      I don’t follow the Bible, but I do like that Jesus Christ guy. He would have thought this guy was a total asshole (although he probably would have said it in a nice way and then hopefully helped the guy pull his head out of his ass). Because Jesus was cool like that. Such a nice guy, really. He also went out of his way to befriend those who were being persecuted in different ways (such as prostitutes and lepers). I doubt Jesus would have stood idly by as someone insulted one of his “fallen” friends.

      I don’t believe in the non-judgment principle, as I find it is far more evil to sit aside and be quiet when others are acting atrociously. I sleep better at night standing up for what I believe is RIGHT and MORAL. I don’t believe the meek would inherit the earth, as much as they would just let people continue being monsters and just pray that they would stop.

      But that’s just me. I would never call myself religious, but I do have a good decade+ of Catholic school under my belt. So yes, I know what the Bible says.

      Forgiveness may help warm your heart at night, but it is surely not going to be the thing that fights against discrimination. Jesus stood up for what he believed in. I encourage others to do the same, perhaps with less platitudes, so at the very least, it sounds reasonably genuine.

  2. handloader says:

    All I was trying to say was not to judge others, as far as turning the other cheek I never got the nack of doing so, when I was young we were taught to walk softly and carry a big stick, I`m not sure that thats the right approach either but this teacher should know about karma because his will turn against him one day, No one should go out of their way to cause greaf against another human being for any reason, Their is no reason for it.


Leave a Reply

