Socialized Medicine in Old Europe- David Sedaris

It was the same when I complained about all the gaps between my teeth. “I had braces when I was young, but maybe I need them again,” I told her. An American dentist would have referred me to an orthodontist, but, to Dr. Barras, I was being hysterical. “You have what we in France call ‘good-time teeth,’ ” she said. “Why on earth would you want to change them?”

“Um, because I can floss with the sash to my bathrobe?”

“Hey,” she said. “Enough with the flossing. You have better ways to spend your evenings.”

via Socialized Medicine in Old Europe : The New Yorker.

Love me some Sedaris, always.

Leave a Reply

