Czech-into-cash

In the US, it’s not uncommon for thieves to steal copper wire and plumbing from homes. But in Slavkov, Czech Republic, a gang made off with a ten ton metal footbridge. This beats the 4 ton bridge stolen in the Czech Republic in 2008.. Apparently, this gang had “official” documents approving the dismantling. Gives new meaning to the phrase, “I’ve got a bridge to sell you.” From The Telegraph:

“The thieves said they had been hired to demolish the bridge, and remove the unwanted railway track to make way for a new cycle route,” he said.

“It was only after they had gone that checks were made and we realized we’d been had. The cost of replacing the bridge will run into millions.”

via Stolen: ten ton bridge – Boing Boing.

This makes me proud to be Czechy.  I thought about it a lot on my way home, mainly because I wanted a really great pun….

BRIDGE, you better Czech yo’self before you wreck yo’self
Hey, don’t let your bridge write a Czech that your.. something… can’t cash.  *sigh*
Czech-into-cash

Related enough, on my walk home I saw an ambulance almost plow through a jogger.  I think jogger must have had his music loud as hell to not hear those horrid sirens.  But I was so on point that I automatically moved– not to avoid the accident, as I was on a sidewalk– but to actually make sure my body was far enough away that newly airborne appendages/blood would most likely NOT reach me.

The ambulance stopped just in time, and no one was killed (at least at that intersection; I have no idea where the ambulance was going).

I was so impressed with my ninja reflexes that I immediately texted boy to tell him about my awesome feat.  Less than two minutes later, I stumbled for no actual reason and fell off of a curb.  Middle of San Francisco.  Just me, falling in the street.

I get it, universe.  Pride is bad.  You didn’t have to be so obvious about it.

Leave a Reply

